Reviews in 200 Words

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, (spotlight on "Lost in the World" featuring Bon Iver) by Kanye West

In Album (spotlighted track) on November 23, 2010 at 12:48 am
I may have been pulled over for playing this song too loud. An overweight, white cop may have asked me if I knew why I was being pulled over. I may have been asked how I could listen to music so loud, with a sarcastic and trite emphasis on “music.” I may have been told that I was ruining my hearing and being a nuisance to the neighborhood. I may have said that I couldn’t help it. I may have asked this ignorant slob if he had ever experienced the kind of raw power that a matchup like Bon Iver and Kanye West were capable of. The kind of meditative chant that zones you out, and the tribal beat that brings you back. I may not have given this ignorant man time to reply; I may have gone on to ask him, When was the last time you listened at all? When was the last time you let sound drown you? I may have told him that this song, this album, risked everything. I may have told him that the reason this music was forcing itself from the windows of my meager car in a way that seemed destructive, was that it was saving my life. I may have driven away without a ticket. 

-Micah Ling

Leave a Reply

