Reviews in 200 Words

Whitney Houston, Tribute

In podcast, Tribute on February 17, 2012 at 7:24 am

The news of Whitney Houston’s death is like losing a little of my adolescence. Whitney was there for my first sleepover, for my first kiss, for growing up. She was such an overwhelming example of a woman: sexy, gorgeous, hardcore, powerful, and seemingly independent. That smile, the way she made you dance, and of course, the voice. “How Will I Know,” “I Wanna Dance With Somebody,” “You Give Good Love;” these are the songs that make you feel good about having fun. And then those anthems—the ones that may have literally made the world a little more lovely: “One Moment In Time,” “Didn’t We Almost Have it All,” and “I Will Always Love You.” Damn if she can’t have you bopping around the room and then nearly in tears. Sometimes I don’t know if I believe in true love and all the sap that comes along with it, but, Whitney did, and that makes me want to believe in it. The Bodyguard will no doubt be playing on cable nonstop for the next few weeks; I’m sure I’ll watch it, but more than anything, I’ll be thinking about what a huge influence Whitney had on music: thank you, woman. Now, get out there and feel the heat with somebody.

-Micah Ling

Click here to subscribe to the official Beat Jab podcast via iTunes.

  1. I really like whitney houston because of her great voice, oh i really miss her. :

    <a href="Most interesting post on our personal web portal
    http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/hair-removal-system/

Leave a Reply

